My journey

Im Lilith founder of evolution of Burlesque: obsession with burlesque began in late 2009 I was completely “astounded” to see multiple women of color thrive in there Genre. I found it invigorating and “exciting” it completely blew my mind! So day by day I searched and searched and I came across this explosively dynamic performer Perle Noire. Next in line was jeeze Loueez peeling and tap dancing at the same time. I thought this is it I can soooooo do this So I began to research the local burlesque scene I found all the local burlesque troupes Sensation burlesque,The Kansas City society of burlesque, and Bees knees burlesque,KC.cabaret and let’s not forget Bdu. I inquired about joining there respective troupes and how to become a performer in the community.I did not understand then why my questions seem to have fallen on deaf ears. but I understand now the reason was because as performer they get thousands of request to join there troupe. So my point is I started my own troupe because I felt the k.c burly community lacked diversity and it did.The 1 or 2 performers with a diverse cultural background were hardly featured in mainstream shows and I wanted to change that.

Leave a comment